digitalamericarickykujath

Just another WordPress.com site

What can we do?

After the class today, talking about the economic crash, the housing market, all of it, it made me think. Is there anything we can do? How do we get out of this cycle?

I honestly don’t know if we can. It feels like unless something catastrophic happens we will stay in this cycle, this “situation” it seems like our society and government only supports virtual businesses, shaky investments, and the “system”. It seems, to me, that our only way to change it would be to change the government. But how can we do that? Elect representatives that have our view? I don’t think that would work because I’m willing to bet that a great percentage of the population doesn’t even see the problem. We know there is something going on, but might not know how to fix it.

I see this ending badly.

I can’t think of a peaceful resolution to this. We’re trying to fix it, make things right.  I mean, life will go on, society will always exist. I just feel like something is going to happen.

After thinking about all of this I can’t even offer an educated guess on what will happen, let alone a solution. I feel like were stuck and the only thing that can save us would be a complete network shutdown. A reset (as Tyler would say). Maybe the second time around we can get it right.

 

I might be so pessimistic because of what happened in my life. I bought a house in 2007 (yep, right before the crash). My realtor said “yea, housing value does not, ever, go down”. I was in the navy at the time and had very stead income. I got out and got an amazing job. Then, in 2008, it happened. One day, after seeing all this on the news, I was driving down my street and noticed like 9 of the 20 houses for sale. I realized it had invaded my life. MY life. Not even a week later I was laid off, not enough business. I fought and scraped to make my mortgage payments. I was making it, but barely. Then one day I got a postcard from the county telling me my housing value… when I bought it it was 150,000. the postcard said 85,000. My jaw hit the floor and I began wondering why I’m trying so hard to save something that’s not worth it. I’d have to keep scraping by for another 10 years to get down to 85,000, that’s 10 wasted years. I made a choice, and still think today it was the right one. I walked away. It slaughtered my credit score but I was happier. That being said, I hope the system does get reset. Maybe then my credit score would reflect how “creditable” I really am. :/

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “What can we do?

  1. That is a powerful first person tale about the harsh reality of (a) virtuality collapsing.

    You could help push the button. You just can’t do it alone.

Leave a Reply

